## **Special Meeting to Accept Voting Returns - William J. Brosnan School (Tuesday, May 15, 2018)** *Generated by Beth M Nystrom on Wednesday, May 16, 2018*

### **Members present**

David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David Stein, Tammie Topel

#### Members absent

None

### Also present

Mr. Robert Banzer, Superintendent of Schools

Ms. Kathleen Molander, Assistant Superintendent for Business

Ms. Irene McLaughlin, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

Mr. Matthew Nelson, Assistant Superintendent for Student Services, Technology and Assessment

Dr. Dana Boshnack, Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning

Public Attendance: Approximately 30 people

- 1. CALL TO ORDER President Rapiejko called the meeting to order at 10:02 p.m.
- 2. Mr. Rapiejko led those present in the PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE; and
- 3. Pointed out the EMERGENCY EXITS
- 4. THE BOARD PROCEEDS TO CAST AND CANVAS BALLOTS IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 2019-a OF THE EDUCATION LAW (affidavit ballots)

There were no affidavit ballots.

# 5. THE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD ANNOUNCES THE ELECTION RETURNS AND ACKNOWLEDGES THE NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

President Rapiejko announced the following election results:

Proposition #1 (2018-2019 Budget \$166,810,381)	2,287 Yes	754 No
Proposition #2 (Capital Reserve Expenditure)	2,524 Yes	555 No
Proposition #3 (Capital Reserve Establishment)	2,403 Yes	696 No

Mr. Rapiejko announced the results of the Trustee Election: David Stein received 2,173 votes, David Badanes received 1,915 votes, Victoria Buscareno received 2,195 votes, and Thomas Loughran received 1,612 votes. Victoria Buscareno and David Stein were elected to three year terms. David Badanes was elected to a two year term.

#### 6. VOTING RETURNS

Action: 6.01 Resolution accepting Voting Returns Recommendation to approve the following resolution:

"RESOLVED, that the voting returns for the 2018-2019 Budget Vote, the Election of Trustees, Proposition #2, and Proposition #3 be accepted, subject to certification by the District Clerk"

Motion by Lori McCue, second by Donna McNaughton.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

### 7. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT, GENERAL - FOR BOARD ACTION

Action: 7.01 Personnel Actions Report

Recommendation to approve the attached Personnel Actions Report

Motion by Lori McCue, second by David Stein.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

Mr. Rapiejko introduced Mr. Robert Howard who was appointed at the new Assistant Superintendent for

Business.

## 8. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT, FINANCIAL - FOR BOARD ACTION

Action: 8.01 Transfer of General Fund Appropriations

Recommendation to approve Transfer of General Fund Appropriations in the 2017-2018 fiscal year - \$4,662.58

Motion by David Stein, second by Tammie Topel.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

Action: 8.02 Transfer of Capital Fund Appropriations

Recommendation to approve Transfer of Capital Fund Appropriations in the 2017-2018 fiscal year - \$28,500.00

Motion by David Stein, second by Tammie Topel.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

Action: 8.03 Transfer of Special Aid Fund Appropriations

Recommendation to approve Transfer of Special Aid Fund Appropriations in the 2017-2018 fiscal year -

\$36,500.00

Motion by David Stein, second by Tammie Topel.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

Action: 8.04 Willkie Farr & Gallagher, LLP

Recommendation to approve the following resolution:

"BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Education hereby approves the letter of engagement between the Board of Education and Willkie Farr & Gallagher, LLP;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Education hereby authorizes the President of the Board of Education to execute the necessary documents to effectuate said letter of engagement on behalf of the Board of Education."

Motion by David Stein, second by Tammie Topel.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David Stein, Tammie Topel

**9. ADJOURNMENT** - Board policy requires adjournment by 10:30 pm, unless meeting is extended by vote.

Action: 9.01 Adjournment

Recommendation to adjourn the meeting

Motion by Donna McNaughton, second by David Badanes.

Final Resolution: Motion Passes

Yes: David Badanes, Lori McCue, Donna McNaughton, Allison C Noonan, Andrew Rapiejko, David

Stein, Tammie Topel

At 10:07 p.m., the Chair declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Beth M. Nystrom District Clerk

I, Beth M. Nystrom, District Clerk for the Board of Education of the Northport-East Northport Union Free School District, Town of Huntington, County of Suffolk, do here CERTIFY the following voting returns for the Budget Vote & Election of Trustees held on Tuesday, May 15, 2018

	2018-2019	Proposition #2 Proposition #3 Old Budget Capital Reserve Capital Reserve Establishment  Proposition #3 Capital Reserve Establishment			OARD OF EDUCA	RD OF EDUCATION CANDIDATES				
Election District	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	David Stein	David Badanes	Victoria Buscareno	Thomas Loughran
Fifth Avenue	610	200	661	161	650	180	605	525	591	449
Dickinson Avenue	737	232	819	161	779	204	730	602	714	519
William J Brosnan	869	309	969	224	902	300	788	735	833	608
Total Machine	2,216	741	2,449	546	2,331	684	2,123	1,862	2,138	1,576
Absentee Ballots	71	13	75	9	72	12	50	53	57	36
GRAND TOTALS	2,287	754	2,524	555	2,403	696	2,173	1,915	2,195	1,612
							DS	DB	VB	TL

Summary:

Proposition #1 approved by 1,533 votes Proposition #2 approved by 1,969 votes

Total Budget Votes Cast: 3,041 Affidavit Ballots: 0

Write-ins: Roger Betz (1), John Galt (1), Brett Jones (1),

Billy Koran (1), Vincent Lauria (1), Tara Mackey (2) Regina Pisacani (1), James Raio (1), Joe Sabia (8), Denise Schwartz (71), Melissa Stratigos (1)

Trustee Elected: Victoria Buscareno (3 year term), David Stein (3 year term),

Beth M. Nystrom, District Clerk

David Badanes (2 year term)